Whose Agenda Do You Believe? – Insight for the Day 19:11:2014

adendaAn agenda is a list of tasks which are proposed as discussion points at meetings with the view of attaining an objective or objectives. The Lord asked me whose agenda I had been seeking?

To be honest, I have been scared sometimes of asking God directly about his agenda for my life. In my prayers I say, “Your will” and “Not mine” but deep down, I am thinking, “What if I am sent to India, or even Iraq?”

As scary as this may seem, it would be even worse to get to heaven and find out that we have been engaging in our own self-centred agendas indirectly or directly. Indirectly in the sense that we have been following the agendas of others without seeking God’s view on the issue. Man’s agenda can be wrong – pastors, elders, husbands, wives can get it wrong, so it is important not to blindly accept the agenda people give us, but to test it against the Word of God. I assure you that if it is God’s agenda it must and will come to pass.

We may say that nowadays God does not speak audibly, but personally I have found that God speaks to me through his Word, often when I am 39,000 feet in the air. God can speak to us not just through the Word but through situations and environments – that is why our prayer should be for God’s agenda to occur not just on Sunday during the service, but also in the market-place, sports-field, weddings, business meetings, etc. We do not have to limit our scope to “religious” affairs but to all affairs.

God’s agenda for us has already been predestined so it is to our benefit to plug in as soon as possible.

“Gracious Father, give us the boldness and grace to follow your agenda and not the agenda of man. Give us clarity of purpose and direction.”

 

Shalom – Love Never Fails

©Insight for the Day 2014

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.